Office Hours Mon-Fri: 08:00-16:30 | Call Center +27 12 369 8000
Home | Contact Us



Upcoming Events



Quick Links

SALGA Council of Speakers
Alternative Technology for Protecting Municipal Infrastructure Symposium
SALGA Womens Commission
Special National Members Assembly 2021
National Members Assembly 2020
25 Years of Local Government
Fourth National Communicators Forum
Provincial Members Assembly 2020
Commercial Products and Services Input Form External


Social Media

Follow Us on Social Media










SALGA elects a new Chairperson for Mpumalanga



Posted: 27 June 2024

The South African Local Government Association (SALGA) in Mpumalanga held its 84th Provincial Executive Committee meeting today at Gert Sibande District Municipality. The meeting was chaired by Cllr. Walter Mngomezulu, wherein he indicated that "today's meeting aims to discuss the work that has been implemented by the different portfolios, identifying gaps that must be attended to in ensuring that we continue providing support to municipalities". Cllr. Mngomezulu also congratulated all members who were elected into the Provincial Legislatures, National Council of Provinces, and National Assembly. "We are proud of our own as SALGA Mpumalanga Provincial Executive Committee that have been elected – former Cllr. Jesta Sidell (Legislature), former Cllr. Sylvia Nxumalo (NCOP) and former Cllr. Khethiwe Moeketsi (MEC for Social Services). We wish them all the best in their new positions", added Cllr. Mngomezulu.

Amongst the agenda items that were presented by the different clusters, the item of the vacancies within the SALGA Mpumalanga Provincial Executive Committee were also discussed. Vacancies were as follows, succeeding the National and Provincial Elections on the 29th of May 2024 as well as the vacancy following the passing of Cllr. Tiny Mthimunye who was a PEC member (National Council of Provinces representative). Presided by the SALGA National Executive Committee deployee, Cllr. M Nkosi, the office bearer positions were nominated and elected as follows:

  • Chairperson: Cllr. Walter Mngomezulu (Executive Mayor: Gert Sibande District Municipality)
  • Deputy Chairperson: Cllr. Leah Mabuza (Executive Mayor: Emalahleni Local Municipality)
  • Deputy Chairperson: Cllr. Thomas Ngwenya (Executive Mayor: Nkangala District Municipality)
  • Deputy Chairperson: Cllr. Ruth Rakganye (Speaker: Bushbuckridge Local Municipality)

The two other positions within the Provincial Executive Committee were deferred to the next PEC meeting.

SALGA welcomes the newly elected Chairperson and Deputy Chairpersons. "Thank you for the confidence that the SALGA Mpumalanga PEC has shown in me. As a collective, we will continue to deliver on the work that is entrusted to us by our member municipalities", said Cllr. Walter Mngomezulu as the newly elected SALGA Mpumalanga Chairperson.

Previous News Pages: 1 2 3

Site Map:

Welcome to SALGA
Our Constitution
Governance Framework
Our Structure
Executive Management Team
National Executive Committee
Provincial Executive Committee
National Working Groups
Provincial Working Groups
Provincial Overviews

Media Room
Press Releases
Media Statements
Image Gallery
SALGA Media Enquiries


Municipal Focus
About Municipalities
Guidelines for Municipalities
Municipal Audit Outcomes
Municipal Finance
Municipal Planning
Treasury Reports
Municipal Contact Details

Documents and Publications
Annual Reports
Annual Performance Plans
Strategic Plans
Corporate Presentation
Voice Magazine
National Members Assembly
National Municipal Managers Forum


Knowledge Hub
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
SALGA Lexis Nexis Legal Content
Good Governance Learning Network
Learning Framework for Local Government
Local Government Briefs
Knowledge Hub Documents
Knowlede Hub Publications
Knowledge Portals

Stakeholder Relations
Stakeholder Management Framework
Stakeholder Management Directory



Suppliers & Vendors
Tender Notices
Terms of Reference for Tenders
Responsive Bidders to Tenders
Results to Bids
Central Supplier Database
Standard Bid Documents
Evaluation Criteria for Procurement
Government Procurement Conditions of Contract
Request for Proposals

SALGA Offices

Copyright 2017
Legal Notice Disclaimer

Social Media