Office Hours Mon-Fri: 08:00-16:30 | Call Center +27 12 369 8000
Home | Contact Us

ABOUT US: Provincial Overviews - Eastern Cape


Social Media

Follow Us on Social Media

Upcoming Events

Salga Provincial Conferences 2016

For Delegates and Exhibitors registration forms please click on respective province and links below:

Free State
Northern Cape

For more information please click here



Municipal Human Capital Support Registration

Please click below to register and acces SALGA Municipal Human Capital Support Documents.




SALGA Eastern Cape is the sole representative of municipalities in a province that has a vast geographical spread, scenic beauty and rich heritage. The province is rich in history as it stands out as one the areas where frontier wars have taken place, has produced world leaders like Nelson Mandela and Thabo Mbeki hail from the Eastern Cape as well as many other heroes of the struggle. SALGA EC represents, lobbies and advocates for and on behalf of 45 municipalities in the province with the majority of them being rural.
SALGA EC is a provincial structure of SALGA that is lead politically by the Provincial Executive Committee and administratively by the Provincial Executive Officer. SALGA EC offices are situated in the coastal town of East London that falls within the Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality. The town is mostly urban with semi-rural settlements situated within its outskirts, it has major potential for growth and investment.

Eastern Cape has 37 local municipalities, 6 district municipalities and 2 metropolitan municipalities.


  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan
  • Buffalo City Metropolitan


  • Amathole District Municipality
  • Alfred Nzo Municipality
  • Cacadu District Municipality
  • Joe Gqabi Municipality
  • O.R Tambo Municipality
  • Chris Hani Municipality
  • Local Municipalities
  • Amahlathi
  • Baviaans
  • Blue Crane
  • Camdeboo
  • Elundini
  • Emalahleni
  • Engcobo
  • Gariep
  • Great Kei
  • Ikhwezi
  • Ingquza Hill
  • Inkwanca
  • Intsika Yethu
  • Inxuba Yethemba
  • King Sabatha Dalindyebo
  • Kouga
  • Koukamma
  • Lukhanji
  • Makana
  • Maletswai
  • Matatielle
  • Mbhashe
  • Mbizana
  • Mnquma
  • Mhlontlo
  • Ndlambe
  • Nkonkobe
  • Ngqushwa
  • Ntabankulu
  • Nxuba
  • Nyandeni
  • Port St Johns
  • Sakhisizwe
  • Senqu
  • Sundays River Valley
  • Tsolwana
  • Mzimvubu

Site Map:

Welcome to SALGA
Our Constitution
Governance Framework
Our Structure
Executive Management Team
National Executive Committee
Provincial Executive Committee
National Working Groups
Provincial Working Groups
Provincial Overviews

Media Room
Press Releases
Media Statements
Image Gallery
SALGA Media Enquiries


Municipal Focus
About Municipalities
Guidelines for Municipalities
Municipal Audit Outcomes
Municipal Finance
Municipal Planning
Treasury Reports
Municipal Contact Details

Documents and Publications
Annual Reports
Annual Performance Plans
Strategic Plans
Corporate Presentation
Voice Magazine
National Members Assembly
National Municipal Managers Forum


Knowledge Hub
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
SALGA Lexis Nexis Legal Content
Good Governance Learning Network
Learning Framework for Local Government
Local Government Briefs
Knowledge Hub Documents
Knowlede Hub Publications
Knowledge Portals

Stakeholder Relations
Stakeholder Management Framework
Stakeholder Management Directory



Suppliers & Vendors
Tender Notices
Terms of Reference for Tenders
Responsive Bidders to Tenders
Results to Bids
Central Supplier Database
Standard Bid Documents
Evaluation Criteria for Procurement
Government Procurement Conditions of Contract
Request for Proposals

SALGA Offices

Copyright © 2017
Legal Notice Disclaimer


Social Media